What Are the Penalties in Connecticut Superior Court for a Criminal Conviction of DUI / DWI?

Effective 1/1/2012, pursuant to Connecticut General Statute Section 14-227a (g), the penalties for being convicted of driving or operating while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, are as follows:

For a FIRST conviction of driving under the influence in Connecticut, the punishment would be: a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than $1,000; imprisonment for not less than 48 hours nor more than 6 months; suspension of driver's license for 45 days; and use of an ignition interlock device in EVERY vehicle that you would drive for ONE year. In certain circumstances, the court may substitute 100 hours of community service for the 48 hours in jail.

For a SECOND conviction of operation while under the influence in Connecticut within ten years of a previous DUI/DWI conviction, the punishment would be: a fine of not less than $1,000.00 nor more than $4,000; imprisonment for at least 120 days and maybe as much as two years; probation requiring 100 hours of community service; loss of driver's license for 45 days; and use of an ignition interlock device in EVERY vehicle that you would drive for THREE years.

For a THIRD conviction of DUI within 10 years of a previous DUI conviction, the punishment would be: a fine of not less than $2,000.00 nor more than $8,000; imprisonment of at least one year and maybe as much as three years; probation requiring 100 hours of community service; and PERMANENT loss of license.

The court would also assess court fees, which are a percentage of the fine. And, if you are put on probation, the court would also assess a probation fee.

Please note that if were under 21 years of age at the time of your arrest, your license will be suspended for 45 days or until you reach the age of 21, whichever period is longer.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation
860-348-1900