How Far in Advance Must a Subpoena Be Served On a Police Officer For a Per Se License Suspension Hearing?
If you have been arrested for DUI/DWI in Connecticut and you have received a suspension notice license for having an elevated blood alcohol content; or for refusing to take a breathalyzer test; or for refusing to give a urine or blood sample, you have a right to a hearing before the Connecticut DMV to contest the suspension.
You are entitled to subpoena witnesses to the hearing. If you want to subpoena a police office, however, that subpoena must be served at least 72 hours in advance of the hearing pursuant to General Statute Section 14-227b (g).
(Note: in most other civil, criminal, or administrative matters in Connecticut state court or agencies, a subpoena needs to be served only 18 hours in advance of the hearing or trial pursuant to General Statute Section 52-143.)