What Are the Penalties For Evasion of Responsibility With a Motor Vehicle, as Prohibited by Connecticut General Statute 14-224?

There are two separate penalty provisions under Connecticut General Statute Section 14-224, which requires any operator who has knowingly been involved in an accident to stop and provide identifying information to the other operator and/or police.

Subparagraph (a) applies when the accident results in death while subparagraph (b)(1) applies to serious physical injury. Subparagraph (b)(2) applies to non-serious physical injury and subparagraph (b)(3) applies to injury or damage to property.

A violation of subparagraph (a) or (b)(1) (death or serious physical injury) can result in a fine of up to $20,000, imprisonment of at least two years, but no more than twenty or both the fine and imprisonment.

A violation of subparagraph (b)(2) (non-serious physical injury) can result in a fine of no less than $75 and up to $600, imprisonment of up to five years or both the fine and imprisonment.

A violation of subparagraph (b)(3) (injury or damage to property) can result in a fine of no less than $75 and up to $600, imprisonment of up to one year or both the fine and imprisonment.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
860-348-1900