What Are the Penalties For Reckless Driving, As Prohibited by Connecticut General Statute 14-222?

If you are over 18 years of age, the penalties for a first conviction of reckless driving in Connecticut are (a) a fine between $100 and $300; (b) up to 30 days in jail; and (c) loss of license for at least 30 days and possibly up to 90 days. And the penalties for second conviction of reckless driving in Connecticut are: (a) a fine between $100 and $600; (b) up to one year in jail; and (c) loss of license for 90 days.

If you were less than 18 years old at the time of the reckless driving, your license will be suspended for 6 months for a first conviction; and for one year for a second conviction.

The statute that provide these penalties is Connecticut General Statute 14-222 (b); and the statute that provides for the suspensions is 14-111 (b) (1) and (2).

Connecticut General Statute Section 14-222 (b) states as follows:

"Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars nor more than three hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than thirty days or be both fined and imprisoned for the first offense and for each subsequent offense shall be fined not more than six hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than one year or be both fined and imprisoned."

Connecticut General Statute Section 14-111 (b) (1) provides as follows:

" (b) Suspension of operator's license. (1) Except as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection, whenever the holder of any motor vehicle operator's license has been convicted ... the commissioner shall, without hearing, suspend such person's operator's license as follows: ... for a violation of subsection (a) of section 14-222, for a period of not less than thirty days or more than ninety days and, for a subsequent violation thereof, for a period of not less than ninety days...."

Connecticut General Statute Section 14-111 (b) (2) provides as follows:

" (2) ... whenever the holder of any motor vehicle operator's license who is less than eighteen years of age has been convicted ... the commissioner shall suspend such person's operator's license as follows: ... for a first violation of subsection (a) of section 14-222, for a period of six months and, for a subsequent violation thereof, for a period of one year...."


Contact Us for a Free Consultation
860-348-1900